Anyone try with Q2RTX yet? I'm tinkering.

Discussion about the game D-Day: Normandy.
Post Reply
Ness
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 6:59 pm

Anyone try with Q2RTX yet? I'm tinkering.

Post by Ness » Sun Jul 14, 2019 5:09 am

I just got around to messing with games on my new work laptop (new jeorb = new laptop = maaayybe more time for things like games??), and I was rolling through my steam library to see what all I could run on Linux (Arch is my daily driver) when I saw Q2RTX for free. I also recalled seeing early stuff about this a few months back, and it was also mentioned in another thread: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14825

The steam build is based off this: https://github.com/NVIDIA/Q2RTX

An excerpt from that link which is relevant to the interest of DDAY:
Quake II RTX is NVIDIA's attempt at implementing a fully functional version of Id Software's 1997 hit game Quake II with RTX path-traced global illumination.

Quake II RTX builds upon the Q2VKPT branch of the Quake II open source engine. Q2VKPT was created by former NVIDIA intern Christoph Schied, a Ph.D. student at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in Germany.

Q2VKPT, in turn, builds upon Q2PRO, which is a modernized version of the Quake II engine. Consequently, many of the settings and console variables that work for Q2PRO also work for Quake II RTX. The client and server manuals are particularly useful.
The current DDAY bundle is wrapped around Q2PRO, so I SUSPECT getting this ported to the Q2RTX engine should be just a matter of copypasta, and editing a few things here and there.

JUST as a matter of curiosity, I took a quick pass at dumping the dday files into my ~/.local/share/Steam/steamapps/common/Quake II RTX/ path, and tweaked a few things to see if I could overcome some crashes.

(Open these in new tab if you can't read the things)
Image

Image

Image

I'm sure that's the end of the line of a drag-and-drop attempt, but compiling dday source to use Q2RTX shouldn't be a massive task, unless someone here knows better.

Ness
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 6:59 pm

Re: Anyone try with Q2RTX yet? I'm tinkering.

Post by Ness » Sun Jul 14, 2019 6:16 pm

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Night Rider
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:48 pm
Location: North of Boston,Mass
Contact:

Re: Anyone try with Q2RTX yet? I'm tinkering.

Post by Night Rider » Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:46 pm

Yes I have but mine crashed on me in Windows your pics look very nice
"Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid"
John Wayne

Image

User avatar
Night Rider
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:48 pm
Location: North of Boston,Mass
Contact:

Re: Anyone try with Q2RTX yet? I'm tinkering.

Post by Night Rider » Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:52 pm

I found more info that may help you in the setup here https://www.nvidia.com/content/dam/en-z ... tarted.pdf
"Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid"
John Wayne

Image

User avatar
Night Rider
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:48 pm
Location: North of Boston,Mass
Contact:

Re: Anyone try with Q2RTX yet? I'm tinkering.

Post by Night Rider » Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:37 pm

"Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid"
John Wayne

Image

Ness
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 6:59 pm

Re: Anyone try with Q2RTX yet? I'm tinkering.

Post by Ness » Mon Jul 15, 2019 2:23 am

I was able to get past the crashes by compiling Q2RTX manually, and grabbing the vkpt_shaders folder after it builds, and zipping it up, renaming the .zip file as "shaders.pkz" (I think.. going off memory here), and replacing the existing shaders.pkz file in the baseq2 folder.

That got rid of my game crashing. I did some goofy stuff to get to this point, but I could set `game dday` and start a server that loaded my q2 dude at the spawn camera area.

It's still not loading up any of the dday config stuff, but the `pak0.pak` for Q2RTX is more than double the size of the regular `pak0.pak` file, and also requires 2 additional .pkz files to be present in baseq2 dir: `blue_noise.pkz` and `q2rtx_media.pkz`. When I try to connect to an existing dday server, it just hangs at loading.

I dunno if I'd have a ton of time to try and dig into this, so I figured I'd share my findings, and show that it's totally possible. If I end up with something that actually functions and can be repeated on another system, I'll push those changes to my fork, or just make a new project if I have to gut a ton of stuff.
https://GitHub.com/wallentx/

User avatar
Night Rider
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:48 pm
Location: North of Boston,Mass
Contact:

Re: Anyone try with Q2RTX yet? I'm tinkering.

Post by Night Rider » Mon Jul 15, 2019 9:00 pm

I am sure with more tinkering it can work I don't know if it can only work with RTX video cards but if you have all the old texture's in the folder it should work for any player.
"Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid"
John Wayne

Image

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5471
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone try with Q2RTX yet? I'm tinkering.

Post by Mr. YOur no fun » Wed Jul 17, 2019 12:40 pm

Have you tried it with my hi resolution texture maps? It might work and the textures are more hi rez then the ones in the photos.

User avatar
PowaBanga
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:25 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Anyone try with Q2RTX yet? I'm tinkering.

Post by PowaBanga » Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:10 pm

Hi ness,
can you do that ?

Code: Select all

cd ~/.local/share/Steam/steamapps/common/Quake II RTX/
ls -a
Did you try to put the rtk pak0.pak into dday folder, and rename pak0.pak from dday into pak1.pak ?
You can join me on IRC : in irc.quakenet.org chan : #ddayhome or on Freenode, chan #ddaynormandy .
Do not hesitate to type my pseudo to highlight me.
Or open an issue on github to highligh me by mail.
RSS

User avatar
mofo
Posts: 3774
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Anyone try with Q2RTX yet? I'm tinkering.

Post by mofo » Sun Nov 03, 2019 12:20 pm

So I got it working. Like you, I can't start my own game to tinker around, but I can join functional games!
"Babies are little maracas sent from above."

Post Reply