Starting a server

Topics regarding running or playing on D-Day servers.
Post Reply
[505]Maximus
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 9:52 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Starting a server

Post by [505]Maximus » Thu May 10, 2012 4:31 pm

Now this may sound crazy, but after all this time of playing dday off and on, I'd like to start up a server. It makes me sad to see how downhill this awesome free to play game has gone in the way of people playing it. We are entering an age of "free to play" where "free to play" isn't really all that free. I think that this game has life in it still and I want to help it out. I need all the info possible on how to get a dedicated server running. I'm willing to pay a small amount a month to keep one going with a few slots. Anyone with the knowledge let me know how to get started!
When in doubt use a knife!- Spacemonky
Don't Change, stay the same.
This is me http://www.myspace.com/xxxxdicktatorxxxx

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Starting a server

Post by Dirk » Fri May 11, 2012 8:10 pm

It's really simple.

Choose your OS

Get the dday files including the dday dll/so.

Make sure port 27910 udp is open and/or routed to your server.

Catch me on IRC or something for help.
Image

ddaydude
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Starting a server

Post by ddaydude » Fri May 11, 2012 9:58 pm

nice! make sure you link this map pack in the MOTD server file. people just rage quit if they have to download ingame.

http://www.moddb.com/games/dday-normand ... s-textures

hopefully fafner will upload this to ddaydev site also. downloading maps/ textures/sounds etc is so slow in the game . this should help

[505]Maximus
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 9:52 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Starting a server

Post by [505]Maximus » Fri May 11, 2012 11:39 pm

Yeah Dirk I'm actually friends with you on steam, maybe we can chat there? You haven't been on for a while though ;) I will definitely have a lot of stupid questions about all of this, by the dll/so files do you just mean the game itself? Or is that separate server stuff?
When in doubt use a knife!- Spacemonky
Don't Change, stay the same.
This is me http://www.myspace.com/xxxxdicktatorxxxx

ddaydude
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Starting a server

Post by ddaydude » Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:12 pm

Steam Crew dll ftw. use that one Maximus xD. or the Korean dll xD. Cant wait to play on it! DDay Forever :D

sniperkingNew
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:28 pm

Re: Starting a server

Post by sniperkingNew » Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:29 pm

Does anyone even have the SC DLL anymore... i lost it on an IDE drive... If anyone can provide it to me i will host a server with the dll

ddaydude
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Starting a server

Post by ddaydude » Sun Aug 05, 2012 11:26 pm

meh couldnt find the dll. that was an amazing dll. lost forever unless Weston, ganjaking or the general still has it. :(

sniperkingNew
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:28 pm

Re: Starting a server

Post by sniperkingNew » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:56 am

ddaydude wrote:meh couldnt find the dll. that was an amazing dll. lost forever unless Weston, ganjaking or the general still has it. :(


This is Ganjaking.... and The General does not have it. (i checked all his drives...) Idk if Weston has it but i don't think he does. .

User avatar
mofo
Posts: 3774
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Starting a server

Post by mofo » Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:01 pm

Couldnt you just get a SATA to IDE cable and plug in your old IDE drive? I may be thinking of a USB hard drive enclosure for IDE drives. Either way, I've seen a simple solution to your issue of not having access to your old IDE drive for under $20.
"Babies are little maracas sent from above."

sniperkingNew
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:28 pm

Re: Starting a server

Post by sniperkingNew » Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:23 am

The IDE died.... or i would do what you said.... i lost all my maps i made my dday folder and all my server files.... a sad day that was...

[505]Maximus
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 9:52 pm
Location: Pennsylvania
Contact:

Re: Starting a server

Post by [505]Maximus » Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:51 am

Just so you guys know, I will still be doing this. My first day of class for the fall semester is on the 27th so that's when I'll be back at my apartment with really good internet. I really hope there is some interest because I really care about this damn game!
When in doubt use a knife!- Spacemonky
Don't Change, stay the same.
This is me http://www.myspace.com/xxxxdicktatorxxxx

sniperkingNew
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:28 pm

Re: Starting a server

Post by sniperkingNew » Tue Aug 07, 2012 9:11 pm

i will try to get on sometimes. but i would vote to revert back a few dll's if possible...

User avatar
mofo
Posts: 3774
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Starting a server

Post by mofo » Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:51 am

I just got thinking, I probably have a bunch of those old maps on one of the computers around here. Let me dig around for em, and get back to yous with a list of all the maps I have. Only trouble might be textures. I may not have all of those.
"Babies are little maracas sent from above."

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4371
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Starting a server

Post by InFerNo » Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:36 pm

Is anyone playing in the next couple of hours?
Image

Post Reply