Dirk's server

Topics regarding running or playing on D-Day servers.

Do you like this server?

Yes
25
93%
No
2
7%
 
Total votes: 27

User avatar
MetalGod
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:18 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by MetalGod » Sat Jun 15, 2013 10:36 pm

Dirks automatically restarts. There's no lack of servers. The ones we have are sparsely populated as it is. Nobody said setting up a server was hard. The thing about a non-dedicated server is, that the server owner has an unfair advantage in ping and they don't run as smoothly as a dedicated machine. Especially considering home much the residential bandwidth has been oversold when comparing claimed speeds to actual speeds.

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Dirk » Sun Jun 16, 2013 8:30 am

MetalGod wrote:Any changes in the server code lately that might affect stability. Every time invade1 was on today, the server crashed.

Not that I am aware of.
Image

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Dirk » Thu Jun 20, 2013 9:02 pm

MetalGod wrote:...The thing about a non-dedicated server is, that the server owner has an unfair advantage in ping and they don't run as smoothly as a dedicated machine. ...
Not when you are playing on a netbook. Those video cards bring you down. :(
Image

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Dirk » Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:14 pm

New IP: 76.189.222.253

Sorry for the short notice. :/
Image

User avatar
MetalGod
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:18 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by MetalGod » Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:28 am

Noted.

DDayDude1
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:59 am

Re: Dirk's server

Post by DDayDude1 » Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:36 pm

Dirk wrote:New IP: 76.189.222.253

Sorry for the short notice. :/
ok nice. but when I try to join it says to many connections from my host.

and the serverlist shows like 20 servers.

Image

Paul
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:49 pm

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Paul » Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:15 pm

DDayDude1 wrote: ok nice. but when I try to join it says to many connections from my host.
I was having the same problem earlier today, thought it was on my end. I couldn't connect for about ten minutes. Unfortunately, by the time I did, almost everyone had left.
ஜ۩۞۩ஜ
"We used poisonous gasses, and we poisoned their asses."

User avatar
Night Rider
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:48 pm
Location: North of Boston,Mass
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Night Rider » Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:46 pm

I had the same problem setting up my server and do not remember what I changed too fix it from running multi servers on the same IP address like this is doing now.
"Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid"
John Wayne

Image

User avatar
MetalGod
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:18 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by MetalGod » Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:18 pm

I've had no issues connecting, since the ip change.

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Dirk » Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:40 pm

Looks like there may be a difference between port forward and virtual server on this router.
Image

DDayDude1
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:59 am

Re: Dirk's server

Post by DDayDude1 » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:34 pm

Dirk wrote:Looks like there may be a difference between port forward and virtual server on this router.
fixable? havent play in weeks maybe months. :(

weird some people can connect and some cant because of the "to many connections from host" messsage :?

User avatar
MetalGod
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:18 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by MetalGod » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:39 pm

Okay 3 people in the server at the moment, I just tried connecting and got the "to many connections from host" error Quaker is mentioning.

DDayDude1
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:59 am

Re: Dirk's server

Post by DDayDude1 » Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:12 pm

i think its fixed. working for me now. thanx dirk 8)

User avatar
MetalGod
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:18 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by MetalGod » Sat Oct 26, 2013 10:37 am

Yep. Working now.

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4371
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by InFerNo » Thu Dec 26, 2013 6:48 pm

Dirk, I keep getting

Code: Select all

"InFerNo is using a client side proxy!!![Q2Admin] InFerNo is using a client side proxy!!![Q2Admin] InFerNo is using a client side proxy!!![Q2Admin] InFerNo is using a client side proxy!!![Q2Admin] InFerNo is using a client side proxy!!![Q2Admin] InFerNo was kicked"
Image

Boons
Developer
Developer
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:36 pm

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Boons » Tue Mar 04, 2014 11:20 pm

mumble server still up dirk?
Image
Image

User avatar
Night Rider
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:48 pm
Location: North of Boston,Mass
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Night Rider » Wed Mar 05, 2014 4:55 pm

Yes Boons I just checked for you Dirks Mumble server is up and running there.
"Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid"
John Wayne

Image

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5471
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Mr. YOur no fun » Wed May 21, 2014 6:14 am

Hey dirk server is up but why no bots?

User avatar
MetalGod
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:18 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by MetalGod » Wed May 21, 2014 7:29 am

Hmm, not sure...

User avatar
MetalGod
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:18 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by MetalGod » Wed May 21, 2014 7:31 am

I fixed it... someone must have rcon disabled them.

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5471
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Mr. YOur no fun » Wed May 21, 2014 1:46 pm

O, yeah macsog2 does that sometimes, don't know for sure.

User avatar
MetalGod
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:18 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by MetalGod » Wed May 21, 2014 2:01 pm

It's handy, at times, when you want to have a player only game with less than 8 humans. Whoever did probably just forgot to reset it.

User avatar
Mac Sog 2
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 5:54 pm
Location: In your mug, son.
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Mac Sog 2 » Wed May 21, 2014 3:57 pm

To quote the Alsation shout, "I didn't do it!" I am the one who adds bots. I prefer the chaos and nonstop action they bring to our lives. This mod would be dead without those little bots.
(Team)Mac Sog 2: dont rocket the spawn
[101st]Alsatian: dont tell me how to play
[101st]Alsatian disconnected

User avatar
MetalGod
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:18 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by MetalGod » Wed May 21, 2014 4:41 pm

:lol:

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5471
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Dirk's server

Post by Mr. YOur no fun » Thu May 22, 2014 6:13 am

I just said I have seen him do it, didn't say he did this one.

Post Reply