New Campaign Mode

News related to D-Day & DDC. Only Admins can post topics, anyone can reply.
User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

New Campaign Mode

Post by Fafner »

I've coded a new campaign mode for D-Day that should be out very soon.

Image

Each team starts with a set number of "Platoons". Whenever a team loses a map, they lose one platoon. If one team runs out, the other team wins the campaign. Or it can be set so if a team captures all the maps, they win the campaign. Each map can have up to 3 exit maps. So unlike with the old campaign mode where you could get stuck on dday1 over and over, that generally can't happen on this. I coded it so the server tries to play maps that haven't been played recently. (There is the possibility of some repetition but hopefully that will be minimal.)

Hopefully with this, the game will feel more like a "war" instead of just playing individual maps all the time. This should be playable on Dirk's within the next few days, I just have to finalize a few things and upload everything. So far there is just a Normandy campaign which will be votable for with "vote campaign norm". I'll probably add more campaigns later.

server ip: 99.190.136.76
Image

User avatar
mofo
Posts: 3774
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by mofo »

fafner, you dont have a job or much of a social life do you?

anyway, that looks fuckin awesome and could be the boost dday needs. the bots themselves were pretty neat. thanks for making this game a game again.

User avatar
Wolf
Posts: 1414
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 3:53 pm

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Wolf »

Neat

User avatar
the violator
Developer
Developer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 1:48 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by the violator »

Sounds really cool Fafner. Do you know which maps it'll use yet? And how many different maps do you think you'll have for each city/area? For example, if the next map were an Omaha Beach map, would it choose a map out of dday1, invade1, doggreen, etc.? I assume st. Lo will always be Inland3... How many cities will have multiple options?
Join the D-Day Discord!:
https://discord.gg/UVcQ9F

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Fafner »

St Lo might end up being an old map called stlo.bsp (the map that was remade into raid), mainly because I haven't added bot support for inland3 and don't know if bots will work on that. I thought about having alternates but didn't end up coding it. But you can always just put maps right next to each other on the layout and it should work the same. I do have maps chosen for every city. I tried to come up with real places for generic maps. Like Isigny is harbor, Blainville is invade2, etc.

User avatar
the violator
Developer
Developer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 1:48 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by the violator »

I think inland3 should be in there because I've always felt it's one of the best dday maps in terms of design and quality. IMO I think you should try to only use really well-made maps in the campaign. Something I've noticed is that whenever a new campaign comes out it's always 80% great and then 20% mediocre with a couple maps that just don't match the quality of the others. (won't name any names...)

Just out of curiosity, what map will you use for Omaha? My vote goes to invade1.

Also, will they be all USA vs. GRM maps, or some British action too?


Excited to see this in action.

EDIT: nvm about the teams, I see you already have some Brit maps in there.
Join the D-Day Discord!:
https://discord.gg/UVcQ9F

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Fafner »

I'm only using bot maps, so I don't see invade1 being added any time soon. I have dday1 in there now.

I'll try to add inland3 but some maps just won't work with bots.

User avatar
mofo
Posts: 3774
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 12:46 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by mofo »

utah is a pretty good map....or am i thinkin omaha. either way i like em both.

User avatar
GypsyLlama
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2906
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:06 pm
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by GypsyLlama »

How's this coming? Available soon?
Image

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Fafner »

It's actually on there now but I didn't enable it. Vote "campaign norm" and it should start the next map. Make sure you have downloads enabled because there's a few pics and sounds you'll need.

User avatar
GypsyLlama
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2906
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 6:06 pm
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by GypsyLlama »

I see them when I join the server (the files I need to download) when the campaign mode is disabled and it gives (or gave as I haven't tried to enable it yet) me the old
Downloading folder/suchandsuchafile
Server does not have this file
the files are on the server available to downlaod??
Image

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Fafner »

They are on there now and it's running ok.

User avatar
the violator
Developer
Developer
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2003 1:48 pm
Location: New York, NY

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by the violator »

not sure if you are aware of this Fafner, but when I turn on the campaign on the server and switch to a supported map, the particular city on the campaign map isn't being highlighted as it should be. Also, when any map ends now it seems to hang and won't switch to a new map, no matter what map is next.
Join the D-Day Discord!:
https://discord.gg/UVcQ9F

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Dirk »

Looks like the .so's got goofed up my server. :(
Image

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Fafner »

? What do you mean?

I read the logs and found a bug that I think caused it to crash and just updated the server. Actually the bug didn't cause the program to crash, just to close the map with an error which might be why it didn't restart.

And earlier I tried copying over the .so to see if that would restart it when it was down, but it didn't work.

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Dirk »

I think the q2admin's gamex86_64.so got over-written. Can you upload the new campaign one into the dday/SRC folder.
Image

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Fafner »

It's in dday/src/src. Is that what you mean?

User avatar
JoeyBelgier
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 6:57 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by JoeyBelgier »

I would like to build my server around this concept in the future o_o

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Fafner »

eh, it's really not that good so I abandoned it. You end up replaying too many maps.

User avatar
JoeyBelgier
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 6:57 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by JoeyBelgier »

[quote="Fafner"]eh, it's really not that good so I abandoned it. You end up replaying too many maps.[/quote]
Still got the thing backed up?

BoonsWrongaccount
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:28 pm

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by BoonsWrongaccount »

it seems like such an awesome idea though.. I think to use old maps may be where it would get caught up as not great.. if you had new maps to go with this.. that seemingly picked up where the other left off... then it would be amazing.. I suppose thats obviously a shit ton of work though :(

User avatar
JoeyBelgier
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 6:57 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by JoeyBelgier »

I'd like to try it either way. It'd allow me to set up a unique server without the need of having a shitload of maps like Dirks'.

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Fafner »

Well I'm pretty sure it still works in the current code. Only issue I remember is I think it sometimes (or maybe always) didn't announce when a team won the campaign. You can try it on Dirk's if you get an admin to do rcon "campaign norm".

It might work better if you lower the number of platoons, or just add more maps. Also if you start all maps off as neutral it's less likely to have duplicates. The 1 campaign I made starts off as almost all Axis. I still think maplist + voting would be better though.

Boons
Developer
Developer
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:36 pm

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by Boons »

Can you put this on the new server faf? I kinda have an idea... make squad play based around this.. if you can save progress or start at a certain point.. it might be kinda fun.. a league based on a fight for normandy :P when allies push axis back or axis push allies to the sea.. league is over.

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4375
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Re: New Campaign Mode

Post by InFerNo »

dday1 in it's current state is very hard to win for Axis..
Image

Post Reply