D-Day Standalone Full Install

News related to D-Day & DDC. Only Admins can post topics, anyone can reply.
User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3639
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Fafner » Wed May 04, 2005 6:08 pm

It doesnt have that.
1RB: http://www.1rb.mav.net
Speedway: http://www.ddaydev.com/speedway
If you need help, start a thread. That way other people can learn from the information given. DON'T PM ME unless it's necessary.

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1956
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by Dirk » Thu May 05, 2005 11:13 pm

It's a little mean to use Linux users. It has outdated SO files and I'm still looking for a solution to uncompress the sound files. But other than that .. it's good.

I'll post eventually if I find a work around/patch ;).
Image

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1956
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by Dirk » Fri May 06, 2005 12:05 am

Dirk wrote:It's a little mean to use Linux users. It has outdated SO files and I'm still looking for a solution to uncompress the sound files. But other than that .. it's good.

I'll post eventually if I find a work around/patch ;).
Ok ... I managed to finally extract that file using WINE and UHARC GUI v2.0.

Linux Users:
Do you want a tar.bz ... or ... you just want to use WINE and UHARC GUI?
Image

User avatar
InFerNo
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4371
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 11:07 am
Location: dday2
Contact:

Post by InFerNo » Fri May 06, 2005 7:01 am

GIVE US TEH TARBALL!!!!
Image

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1956
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by Dirk » Sat May 07, 2005 6:46 pm

Image

BaMhAs
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 8:50 am

Post by BaMhAs » Tue Jun 28, 2005 4:33 pm

Rab,d wrote:Hey, Truf! I can't help you but, HEY! how have ya been?
dose any have a dday server for me ?

BaMhAs
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 8:50 am

Post by BaMhAs » Tue Jun 28, 2005 4:34 pm

if ya do tell me

Stormwolf
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 4:53 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: D-Day Standalone Full Install

Post by Stormwolf » Wed Aug 10, 2005 10:35 am

Fafner wrote:I used SektorJedi's TOMMAS utility to compress the wav files and that saved 75 megs from the download, so the zip is only 150 Mb, but it decompresses to about 450 Mb. Click on the "CLICK TO EXTRACT SOUND" file to extract the wav files or you will be missing a ton of files.
I've just tried installing this now on OS X. Of course, I can't run the application to extract the sound files from the cryptic archive, as the binary is Win32. I can't seem to find a regular install of dday on the DDC any more, making it impossible to install on *nix. Would be nice if this could be fixed.
#!/usr/local/bin/perl = $thedogsbollocks;

Always check your underpants for stray sheep.

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1956
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: D-Day Standalone Full Install

Post by Dirk » Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:45 pm

Stormwolf wrote:
Fafner wrote:I used SektorJedi's TOMMAS utility to compress the wav files and that saved 75 megs from the download, so the zip is only 150 Mb, but it decompresses to about 450 Mb. Click on the "CLICK TO EXTRACT SOUND" file to extract the wav files or you will be missing a ton of files.
I've just tried installing this now on OS X. Of course, I can't run the application to extract the sound files from the cryptic archive, as the binary is Win32. I can't seem to find a regular install of dday on the DDC any more, making it impossible to install on *nix. Would be nice if this could be fixed.
What all do you need just the sounds? I had to use winDOZE to get it to work.
Image

Stormwolf
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 4:53 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: D-Day Standalone Full Install

Post by Stormwolf » Wed Aug 10, 2005 9:49 pm

Dirk wrote:What all do you need just the sounds? I had to use winDOZE to get it to work.
It's alright, I managed to get the files using an emulator.

I'm not sure this method of compression is very good. Isn't something lost when it's converted to mp3? I swear the radio recording on invade one sounded a bit more, glitchy, than I remembered it.

Oh, and I found the original installer. It's under Downloads. I was looking for Files. I've been out of the system too long, lol. Although, the only version of the British expansion is an EXE.
#!/usr/local/bin/perl = $thedogsbollocks;

Always check your underpants for stray sheep.

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1956
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by Dirk » Wed Aug 10, 2005 10:00 pm

Image

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1956
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Re: D-Day Standalone Full Install

Post by Dirk » Wed Aug 10, 2005 10:01 pm

Stormwolf wrote:Oh, and I found the original installer. It's under Downloads. I was looking for Files. I've been out of the system too long, lol. Although, the only version of the British expansion is an EXE.
Couldnt you compile your own?
Image

Stormwolf
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 4:53 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Stormwolf » Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:11 pm

I was sure there would be some loss, but I looked into it today when I noticed a blip playing invade1.

Listen to these two clips:
http://stormwolf.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/f ... -1-old.wav
http://stormwolf.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/f ... -1-new.wav

While this new compression method does do amazing things, the loss is noticeable. Also, the original version is 284KB. The version that has been compressed is 512KB. That's twice what it should be! This means that if the files were ever compressed again, it would become even worse. I'm not sure it's worth it for the 5 minute download it saves...

If size is really an issue, you should look at the 7-zip format. It saves about 10MB on the original mod download.
#!/usr/local/bin/perl = $thedogsbollocks;

Always check your underpants for stray sheep.

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3639
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Fafner » Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:03 pm

If I ever update the zip, I will just compress the wavs that don't have compression problems like that. I know there's a skip in the tank on soviet1 too. But overall I don't think there are many noticeable problems.

Can you use 7zip and tell me what size all those files compress to? If it's close to 150 megs then I will definitely use that instead.
1RB: http://www.1rb.mav.net
Speedway: http://www.ddaydev.com/speedway
If you need help, start a thread. That way other people can learn from the information given. DON'T PM ME unless it's necessary.

Stormwolf
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 4:53 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Stormwolf » Fri Aug 12, 2005 5:54 pm

Fafner wrote:If I ever update the zip, I will just compress the wavs that don't have compression problems like that. I know there's a skip in the tank on soviet1 too. But overall I don't think there are many noticeable problems.

Can you use 7zip and tell me what size all those files compress to? If it's close to 150 megs then I will definitely use that instead.
Audio files do not compress, becasue there is no logical sequence to their data.

I unzipped a copy of your ddayfull.zip, and leaving the audio in mp3 format, I repacked everything into 7-zip format. The original is 150.2MB, the 7-zip is 107.2MB. That's pretty impressive.
#!/usr/local/bin/perl = $thedogsbollocks;

Always check your underpants for stray sheep.

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3639
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Fafner » Sat Aug 13, 2005 5:37 pm

I'll make an update then just to rezip it. Anyone have any suggestions for what should be added or bug fixes? Or does anyone want their cfg added? I'll update it next weekend.
1RB: http://www.1rb.mav.net
Speedway: http://www.ddaydev.com/speedway
If you need help, start a thread. That way other people can learn from the information given. DON'T PM ME unless it's necessary.

User avatar
reaper/ saltydog
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 5:38 am
Location: holland
Contact:

Post by reaper/ saltydog » Thu Nov 24, 2005 11:26 am

some1 got the link off quake2 i need to download again but dont know where :?
only god can .........

HeadHunter
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 6:25 pm
Location: Barcelona, Spain

Post by HeadHunter » Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:23 pm

Image
Pride of the infantry, men of a great division
courage is our tradition, forward the BIG RED ONE!

Cepelin
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 8:23 am

Post by Cepelin » Fri Feb 24, 2006 3:54 pm

Wow, I didn't think of that.
_______________
Webmasters, click here for more traffic!

User avatar
Liquid
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 11:41 pm

Post by Liquid » Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:13 pm

if u mean the full q2 game zipped 3.21 version here http://www.amon-ra.net/~liquid/Quake2.zip

Post Reply