Quake2 Map Analyzer

Topics related to map making for D-Day.
User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by Afrow UK »

I wrote this program in VB.NET.

1. Tells you how many models, textures, sounds and entities your map uses at run time (aka when your map is played).
You are limited to 256 models, 256 pictures, 1024 textures and 256 sounds.
Models of the same file take up one slot. Entities also add to the entity count (bar func_areaportal). Sounds of the same name take up one sound slot (so you aren't limited to 256 target_speakers). Pictures only include PCX files under the pics folder. Textures are all map textures, sky files and model or sprite skins.

2) Copies all files and folders used by your map from multiple selected source folders. The program will read the file paths from either a .map or .bsp file. You can also choose to ignore files under certain folders.
It supports full MD2 and SP2 copying and their corresponding PCX image files.

3) Compresses the files in LZMA (7-Zip) or Zip.

http://www.afrowuk.co.uk/Quake2MapAnalyzer.zip
All files in this Zip are need to be extracted, otherwise the program will not run. Microsoft .NET Framework is also required, which you can download from: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

If you find any bugs, or actually decide to use this program, then let me know lol Back to working on resist I guess :p
Also if anyone is interested in seeing the source code (around 30 classes all written because I was bored) then let me know.

-Stu

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK »

Uploaded again. Was only searching for "model" entity attributes except turrets use "md2".

-Stu

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by Dirk »

wow this sounds like stormie's perl script but still cool.

anyone want to repackage all the good maps?
Image

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK »

Screenshots:

Image

Image

Image

-Stu

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by Dirk »

can this thing batch?

as in

i give it a list of maps and it zips them up seperately?
Image

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK »

Nope.
It is doable though as I wrote the code using objects rather than entirely procedural. I could probably add some sort of support for a batch script.

Code: Select all

<output path="C:\mappack.7z" />

<source>C:\quake2\dday</source>
<source>D:\another source folder</source>

<map name="resist">
<addfile>maps\resist-readme.txt</addfile>
<addfile>demos\resist.dm2</addfile>
</map>

<map name="lavatube">
<addfile>maps\lavatube-readme.txt</addfile>
</map>
What do you think?
Could also allow <output> under <map> for individual archives per map.

-Stu

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by Dirk »

well the reason i'm asking is so i can redo teh DDMA. but it needs better rebuilt archives/packages.

I'd like to repackage all the maps i have with the minimal amount of work. So it would leave me more time to code instead.
Image

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK »

Well an idea would be a feature to generate the batch script as well from bsp files in a folder.

-Stu

Boogerhead
Posts: 841
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 12:13 am
Location: EUA

Post by Boogerhead »

The packager idea is brilliant!

User avatar
Fafner
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3641
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 2:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Fafner »

Just tried it. Looks pretty good :)

User avatar
Prv.Lee
Posts: 390
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 10:19 am
Location: South Korea
Contact:

Post by Prv.Lee »

Nice work. :)
Seol Ki-Hyeon
3 Goals & 2 Assists on The English Premier League

51HD^Lee
To be a realist with an impossible dream in heart.
Image

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK »

Thanks :)
Nice to know my boredom time spent wasn't wasted!

I shall start on the "Batch" tab today probably. Shouldn't take too long as most of the code is already done :)
VB.NET already has XML parsers as well :)

-Stu

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK »

I'm working on the batch support now, although progress is slow.

Boogerhead
Posts: 841
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 12:13 am
Location: EUA

Post by Boogerhead »

Afrow UK wrote:I'm working on the batch support now, although progress is slow.
There'll be a little something extra in your paycheck next weekend. =)

Sounds like a great program. And I'm guessing it'd probably support other Quake 2 mods just by its nature? A whole lotta folks might really like it.

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK »

Yeh it will work for any mod. I won't add HL support though because somone has already done that I've read.
I'll do some more on the batch support today, but the generate batch dialog is getting rather full of controls.

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK »

Finished the batch support. Just need to do debugging.

User avatar
Dirk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1958
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:51 am
Location: Ohio
Contact:

Post by Dirk »

sweet!
Image

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

v1.1 beta

Post by Afrow UK »

Here is v1.1 (beta).
I'll probably make a manual next since the user interface is getting quite complex, but it should still be quite self explanatory for most people.

Image

Image

http://www.afrowuk.co.uk/Quake2MapAnalyzer.zip

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Post by Rab,d »

I unzipped the files and ran the .exe. I got this error:
Image
pressed cancel and got this:
Image

I have no idea what they mean..lol.... :(

SuperSniperChicken
Developer
Developer
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 12:52 pm
Location: Chattanooga, TN

Post by SuperSniperChicken »

mine throws up the "encountered a problem and needs to close" warning after running the exe
Image

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK »

You need Microsoft .NET Framework (as mentioned in the first post).
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Post by Rab,d »

hmm. i have .net installed and updated through MicrosoftUpdate.
:?:
I am running WinME.

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK »

Which .NET version? You can see which version is installed under Add/Remove Programs.
This uses .NET 1.1. I'm not sure if installing .NET 2.0 covers apps targeted at .NET 1.1 because I've always had 1.1 installed first and then installed .NET 2.0 afterwards.

Edit: Did you extract all the files in the Zip and not just the executable?

SuperSniperChicken
Developer
Developer
Posts: 650
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 12:52 pm
Location: Chattanooga, TN

Post by SuperSniperChicken »

2.0
Image

Boogerhead
Posts: 841
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 12:13 am
Location: EUA

Post by Boogerhead »

To add a little info: It at least opens for me.

Win XP Pro SP2, with .Net 1.1 and 2.0. Everything's patched and re-patched and re-re-re-patched. I don't think I have an unusual install of .NET, because I don't know that I've ever done anything with it before.

Post Reply