Quake2 Map Analyzer

Topics related to map making for D-Day.
Boogerhead
Posts: 841
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 12:13 am
Location: EUA

Post by Boogerhead » Fri Aug 25, 2006 7:02 pm

Off the Web, there's a bunch of possible answers to at least Rabid's second problem:


Start: Control Panel: Internet Options: Advanced: Disable script debugging.

Start: Control Panel: Administrative Tools: Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1 (and/or 2.0?): Runtime Security Policy: Adjust Security Zone: Local Intranet: FULL.

Fresh chicken: Blood dripped in the keyboard: Black candle: Lighter: Latin.


I was just reading recommendations to learn ASP.NET 2.0 to build Intranets to give database accesses ... the timing of this is really odd. Hrm.

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK » Sat Aug 26, 2006 6:45 am

Unlike .NET 1.1, which is backwards compatible with .NET 1.0, .NET 2.0 will not run applications writting under .NET 1.1. You need to install both .NET 1.1 and 2.0.

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK » Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:08 am

Did you all give up or something lol?

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Post by Rab,d » Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:45 am

Doesn't net2.0 replace net1.1? cuz i can't get it to work..and i can't uninstall net2.0.

Maybe write it in 2.0... :P

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK » Wed Sep 06, 2006 9:43 am

Easier said than done. You can install .NET 1.1 if you have .NET 2.0 installed. You don't need to uninstall .NET 2.0

User avatar
Rab,d
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3301
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Contact:

Post by Rab,d » Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:48 am

Afrow UK wrote:Easier said than done. You can install .NET 1.1 if you have .NET 2.0 installed. You don't need to uninstall .NET 2.0
ok, i'll try to find 1.1 somewhere. Do you have a link?

User avatar
Afrow UK
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 9:14 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Afrow UK » Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:06 pm

Sigh. I've already posted it twice in this topic!!

User avatar
vynum
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:57 pm

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by vynum » Sat Dec 08, 2018 11:20 pm

Can someone please re-upload a valid download link for "Quake2MapAnalyzer.zip"? v1.1 (beta)
The old download links are DEAD :(

DEAD DOWNLOAD LINKS
http://www.afrowuk.co.uk/Quake2MapAnalyzer.zip
and
http://home.comcast.net/~ddaynormandy/D ... alyzer.zip


I need this tool very badly!!!

This would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks,
vynum

P.S. I strongly suggest using https://www.mediafire.com/?9wr65qs
I have had an account with them for years.
The free account comes with 50 GIGS for free. And you want have to worry
about the links going dead. Excellent for gamers.

P.S.S. I have pm'ed the Author "Afrow UK" , but its been so long I don't know if he even
has his old email address to be notified of this posting request I made here
on the forums? His website is no longer in existence.
Last edited by vynum on Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"If it works, somethings wrong"

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5463
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by Mr. YOur no fun » Sun Dec 09, 2018 7:00 am

I believe this forum goes back to 2003 if not earlier, so a lot of people don't come around anymore. I don't recall that it did that much, but what are you looking for that you feel you need it?

User avatar
vynum
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:57 pm

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by vynum » Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:25 am

Thanks for responding Mr.YOur no fun.

I have been searching & looking for a particular Quake2 & Halflife "*.bsp" utility/tool that did the job nicely.


I forgot the name of the tool I found long ago, but it was written by a student learning Borland Delphi 7.

THE TOOL (Correct Name of program forgotten)
Written in Borland Delphi 7
SOURCE CODE: Was released by original Author under GPL.

The purpose of this tool was to help Admins & Map Authors to distribute maps with all of their assets in a zip file.

* The function & ability :

The function of this tool was to open up and scan a *.bsp file and retrieve all of its necessary assets to run the map on a server. Such as, env, textures, models, sprites,docs etc..

The Ability This tool then had the ability to allow you to zip up the *.bsp map along with all of its' necessary assets while keeping directory structure intact.

*batch mode ( Zip up multiple *.bsp's at once }

Quake2 Map Analyzer seems to be so similar in function and I wanted to give it a try to see if it will meet my needs?

It would be nice if the Author "Afrow UK" would respond to my PM or this thread or anyone whom may have downloaded it re-post a download link to ( Quake2MapAnalyzer.zip )?
" a lot of people don't come around anymore"
- I know time flys but Quake2 will never die :)
"If it works, somethings wrong"

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5463
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by Mr. YOur no fun » Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:22 am

I looked on my hard drive back up and found a file titled

Quake2MapAnalyzer.zip

so it looks like I may have it. Can I use the email that is on record for you here on this forum to send it to?

MYNF

User avatar
vynum
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:57 pm

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by vynum » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:34 am

Yes
"If it works, somethings wrong"

User avatar
vynum
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:57 pm

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by vynum » Wed Dec 12, 2018 5:46 am

Yes , Mr. YOur no fun; you can send it there.

And Nightrider, if you find your copy you can send it there as well. I just want to make sure
I get get the 1.1 version as I understand this was the latest. I will compare both copies.

Source code would be helpful too, if it ha been released?
"If it works, somethings wrong"

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5463
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by Mr. YOur no fun » Wed Dec 12, 2018 2:50 pm

Hmmm I am having trouble attaching it, the file is a zip and the google system is preventing it for security reasons. Let me see if I can use another email system. I don't see that I can attach to a PM to you

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5463
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by Mr. YOur no fun » Wed Dec 12, 2018 2:57 pm

Ok a yahoo account I have seems to have worked

User avatar
vynum
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:57 pm

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by vynum » Wed Dec 12, 2018 5:03 pm

Got it, Thanks.
"If it works, somethings wrong"

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5463
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by Mr. YOur no fun » Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:14 pm

Good, hope it works for you

User avatar
vynum
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:57 pm

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by vynum » Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:50 am

Here is a fresh new download link of (Quake2 Map Analyzer v1.1) for anyone who needs it. I know this sounds insane being that this is very old stuff but I will probably post my reviews & opinions on this much needed tool for old die hard quake2 fans who come across this thread. I did get it to work on Windows 8.1 by simply installing .NET 1.1 and running it in WindowsXP compatibility mode, but the program is only about 60% functional. It would have to be re coded on the latest .NET to be fully functional. I would like to see it coded in C++. This would be even better. And keep it "Open Source".

I sure would like the source code, even though it is a .NET outdated format.

Quake2 Map Analyzer Download ( 2019 ) - Plus > NET 1.1 Redistributable

http://www.mediafire.com/folder/3frg4fd ... nalyzer1.1

p.s. Night Rider if you do find your version of this on your old pc in the cellar, please still post a downloadable link here. I will check to see if your copy is the same as I have?
"If it works, somethings wrong"

Mr. YOur no fun
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5463
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Quake2 Map Analyzer

Post by Mr. YOur no fun » Wed Jan 02, 2019 9:17 pm

Thank you for contributing

Post Reply