My First DDay Experience

Discussion about the game D-Day: Normandy.
[Inf]PopLadd

My First DDay Experience

Post by [Inf]PopLadd » Wed Dec 23, 2015 6:39 pm

I'm well aware that I'm a total newbie compared to a lot of other guys on here, but I just read the "I Remember When..." thread and felt I should talk about my time on DDay. Here's my relatively uneventful story from the beginning;

It was a late autumn afternoon back in 2008. My older brother Ian and I just came home from school (I was 8 years old at the time). As I hung up my coat, put my backpack down, and settled down for the evening, I noticed that my dad and my oldest brother, Liam were nowhere to be found. Even Ian had seemingly vanished in that short amount of time. I headed down into my basement to look for them.

My basement was, and still is, a complete dump; the air was filled with dust and discarded cigarettes, the cardboard walls were tearing apart, exposed pipes continued to rust... And yet at the time, it was my favorite place to be. Liam, Ian, and I had loved to spend hours upon hours hanging out down there and playing video games on computers set up in the former bar area. Gaming has been a pretty big part of my life; my very first video game was Quake 2, which I played when I was 2 years old!

Enough with that tangent. Anyways, I headed down into my basement. Sure enough, Liam, Ian, and my dad were on the computers playing a game. I came over to examine what they were doing. As I peeked into the bar area, my eyes were instantly locked onto their screens. They appeared to be playing some sort of WWII game. I remember my dad talking about how he was browsing the internet that morning and came across this neat little game called "DDay; Normandy".